Episode 2: Never Mind the Bhangra: Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier

Carey and Marie take a trip back to early-oughts NYC to explore identity, music, photography, and THAT ONE BEST FRIEND. In Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier, we meet Dimple, caught between identities, friends, passions, and the fact that her best friend is in love with the suitable boy her parents love. We discuss cultural appropriation, NYU, making art and how hard it was to pick just one quote. Not to mention, some greats oughts fashion

Content Warning: childhood neglect, alcoholism (brief), general girl and cross-cultural tomfoolery, cultural appropriation, and Zara Thrusta, the queen of everything, is not well understood by the main characters and they're real awkward about that, so the trans femme character deserved better but the author acknowledged that later

Show Notes:

From Upspeak To Vocal Fry: Are We 'Policing' Young Women's Voices?

When We Were Twins: The Booktrack to Born Confused

Bombay Spleen: The Booktrack to Bombay Blues

For events like the DesiCreate conference, check out South Asia at NYU webpage and sign up for their announcements

Brown Girls Magazine is celebrating #BornConfused15 with a series of essays on readers' relationship with Born Confused--a wonderful series!

 

Readalikes: